SUNSHINE PRIMARY CARE LLC- Ghiath Kashlan, MD
Medical Marijuana: DO I QUALIFY?
The Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act of 2014 allows doctors to order low-THC cannabis derivative products for patients with (1) cancer, (2) epilepsy, or (3) a physical medical condition that chronically produces symptoms of seizures or severe and persistent muscle spasms.
A qualified patient must first seek treatment from a qualified physician. If that physician determines that low-THC cannabis is appropriate for that patient, the physician will enter an order into the statewide low-THC registry. That patient will then go to a dispensary operated by one of the state’s five Dispensing Organizations. Dispensary staff will verify the patient’s identity and then fill the corresponding order in the registry. Once it has been filled, the order is cleared by the registry, and the patient will need to receive another physician order to receive additional low-THC cannabis derivative products.
Get Your Florida Medical Card Today
Check if you qualify for Florida Medical Marijuana
Pre-Qualify for Florida Medical Marijuana
Medical Marijuana/Low THC Qualification Process:
1 - Patient must attest he has a qualifying diagnosis. Please check screener above.
2- After filling the screener we will be able to review the information and schedule an initial consultation.3-In accordance with Florida law, the ordering physician must treat the patient for at least three (3) months before medical cannabis can be ordered. 4- At the second visit the Physician will document :
- any changes in the patient’s condition
- No other satisfactory alternative treatment options exist as this is required by Florida law.
- Obtain informed consent from the patient or parent/legal guardian to proceed with treatment.
- Document a specific dosing plan and method of administration
- Chart will have enough documentation from MD or Psychiatrist of qualifying condition.
- Patients under 18 years of age will have documentation from a second physician stating, “the risks of treating the patient with medical cannabis are reasonable in light of the potential benefit to the patient.”
- Patients with a terminal condition will require a note stating the terminal condition from a board-certified physician in an appropriate specialty for that condition.
Florida’s Compassionate Use Registry
Entering the patient into the Registry enables the state to issue a Compassionate Use ID number, which is required before the patient (or caregiver) can apply for the required ID card. The patient will be placed into the Compassionate Use Registry (where a unique Patient ID number is generated) after:
- The patient’s first appointment and
- All required medical documentation, such as proof of qualifying diagnosis, has been submitted.
If all legal requirements have been met, after 90 days passes since the patient’s first appointment, the physician will place medical cannabis orders into the Compassionate Use Registry.
Medical Cannabis ID Card
After being entered in the Registry the patient and/or caregiver must submit a completed application to obtain a Florida medical cannabis ID card. Applications are issued through the Office of Compassionate Use.
Once approved an ID number and temporary ID card will be issued by email to the patient. Within one month, a printed ID card is sent to the patient/caregiver, but only the temporary ID card is needed to purchase the medical cannabis.
Obtaining Medical Cannabis from State-Approved Dispensaries
After receiving the patient/caregiver’s state ID card, the patient can then visit one of the state-approved medical cannabis dispensaries to arrange to get a product sanctioned by the State of Florida.
We will provide a list of the state-approved dispensaries. Currently, the ordering physician may only order up to a 45-day supply at a time; however, the ordering physician may provide one refill between each three (3) month appointment.
Quarterly Follow-Up Appointments to Stay Active on the Registry
To remain active on the Compassionate Use Registry, every three months the patient must have a follow-up appointment with the ordering physician so the physician may evaluate the patient and determine the proper course of treatment.
The ordering physician must submit an updated treatment plan to the University of Florida College of Pharmacology. Without receiving the updated treatment plan, the patient cannot remain active in the Compassionate Use Registry.